top of page

I Can't Celebrate


Sorry I am from a different cloth than what many are cut from

Today I'm not blindly following the custom

I can't celebrate Martin Luther King Day today because innocent people are dying at the hands of the new slave owners

Not the dream- I feel the nightmare getting stronger

Where a boy can get gunned down for wearing a hoodie only

The killer walks free and try to sell the trophy

We're still judged because we're brown, put in projects on the wrong side of town

But the great American Dream doesn't hold anyone down

I can't sing "Let freedom ring"

When everything I see is starting to sting

The nation is still a wreck and you should be upset

The bank still wouldn't cash the check

A man became president by being what Martin despise

And I can't say that it comes as a surprise

This crooked nation is still in its hateful past

I can't celebrate Martin Luther King day today because we are not free at last


Featured Posts
Check back soon
Once posts are published, you’ll see them here.
Recent Posts
Archive
Search By Tags
No tags yet.
Follow Us
  • Facebook Basic Square
  • Twitter Basic Square
  • Google+ Basic Square
bottom of page