top of page

Top Five Overrated Rappers


Today I'm counting down the top five overrated rappers in Hip Hop. In some of the cases, overrated doesn't necessarily mean that they flat out suck: they just get way more credit than they deserve. Go here and let me know if you agree or disagree. Let's go!!!! Aesop Rock Now if you think I'm talking about the lame rapper with a grill in his mouth from New York, stop watching and start beating your head up against the wall now. I'm talking about the underground rapper who has been going since '96. He has been brought to my attention when Eminem has broken the record for most words in a rap song, and someone mentioned him. So I looked him up and listened to the track None Shall Pass. I immediately was lost, because it sounded like gibberish. Now I thought that it was like Twista, where he was just going too fast. So I looked up some of his lyrics, and it was just big words thrown together. Definitely not good enough to be put in the league as Eminem. Anyway, the record was broken by a rapper named Harry Shotta and that's that. Wale Ever since 2009, I couldn't understand the hype about this man. Attention! Deficit had three or four good songs at most. The Gifted and the Album About Nothing was pretty decent and had some good tracks on them. My favorite song by him is the White Shoes. It seems like most of the time, he just says random stuff in a poetic voice so people would think that he's deep. Prove me wrong, if you disagree. Tupac? This is the most controversial, which is why I have a question mark by it. No doubt, Pac is the most impactful Hip Hop artist of all time, even decades after his death. Changes is the greatest Hip Hop song of all time. He had more touching songs like Brenda Got a Baby, Dear Mama, and Keep Ya Head Up. Arguments are that as far as lyricism, he wasn't the top compared to Big L, Big Pun and Ras Kass. What do you think? Is he overrated? Kanye West/Drake I put these two clowns on the same number, because they claim to be great but use ghostwriters. Kanye West even calls himself a God, but didn't even write his biggest hit "Jesus Walks". If you don't have the talent to rhyme: don't dare call yourself a God! Speaking of Gods, do we even consider Drake a rapper? He came from a teen show in Canada and rode Lil Wayne all the way to a record deal. He was a part of the worst rap beefs in recent memory with Weak (I mean Meek) Mill. Don't even get me started on how the coward acted with Joe Budden!!! How are you a rapper and is scared of competition? Well it's 2016, and you can get famous by mumbling. The bar was set low by Soulja Boy and Drake just slid right in. Jay-Z This should come as no surprise, because Jay-Z has been mediocre at best ever since the Blueprint. He even said that he was overrated on 'So Appalled' when he rapped "Would you rather be underpaid or overrated?" Jay-Z has made millions from dumbing down his lyrics to be 'radio friendly'. Smart marketing strategy, but nowhere near a top MC. Well that's my list: do you agree or disagree? What's your list? Leave your lists, comments and don't forget to share.

Featured Posts
Check back soon
Once posts are published, you’ll see them here.
Recent Posts
Archive
Search By Tags
No tags yet.
Follow Us
  • Facebook Basic Square
  • Twitter Basic Square
  • Google+ Basic Square
bottom of page